Tuesday, 7 July 2015

Review: Taming Lily by Monica Murphy

Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren, Emma Chase, and Maya Banks, the anticipated finale in New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy’s sexy contemporary romance series about three fiery and determined sisters with their own ideas about life and love.

I’m in trouble. Again. And instead of facing my problems head on, I’ve run away. Far away this time, and no one can catch me—not my two younger sisters, Violet and Rose, not my father, my grandmother, or that witch Pilar who wants to take control of my family’s cosmetics company. Now I’m in Hawaii, enjoying the sun and the sand and water, where nobody knows the hot mess known as Lily Fowler. And I’m loving every minute of it.

But someone is watching me. Following me. He’s gorgeous. And soon we’re talking, and against all my instincts, I reveal bits and pieces of myself to Max. It feels good, though I know he can’t be the man for me. These sudden feelings we share are way too complicated, too fraught, too intense.

Then everything explodes and I’m forced to return home. My intentions have always been true, but now everyone’s mad at me. I don’t know who to turn to anymore . . . except to Max. He’s who I want to trust. But I’m not so sure I should. Maybe it’s worth the risk—and what-ifs be damned. . . .

Kindle Edition, 240 pages
Expected publication: July 7th 2015 by Bantam
Series: Fowler Sisters #3
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Kristine's Thoughts:

**I received an advanced readers copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!**

This is the third instalment in the Fowler Sisters series and follows the oldest sister Lily. It is not necessary to read the first two books to follow along but they do provide a little background for this one.

Fans of erotica or a lot of descriptive sexual encounters will most likely like this series because it is chalked full of it. Almost too much for me, to the point that it got a little boring and monotonous. There was obvious sexual chemistry between Lily and Max but it lacked some of the emotional chemistry that was needed in order for the story to go in the direction that it did. I struggled to feel the moral dilemma that both were facing because I could only see the sexual aspect of it.

I liked Lily but I was indifferent to Max. He just didn't stand out as much as the leading men in the previous books. I also found this book a bit too similar to Stealing Rose. The man is in it for the sexual chemistry while at the same time trying to steal something from the girl but then feelings change and morals kick in. In the previous book it was a necklace and in this one it was a lap top.

I don't want you to think that I disliked the book because that is not the case. It was an entertaining read for sure. I just feel, like in the case of most series, it being the third book it wasn't quite as good as the ones before it.

About the Author
New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of new adult contemporary romance. A believer in kissing. A believer of love.

I also write romance as USA Today bestselling author Karen Erickson.

I'm a wife, a mom and I live in California. (From Goodreads profile)

Connect with Monica


No comments:

Post a Comment