Tuesday, 20 October 2015

Review: The Girl With No Past by Kathryn Croft

A gripping psychological thriller for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

Leah Mills lives a life of a fugitive – kept on the run by one terrible day from her past. It is a lonely life, without a social life or friends until – longing for a connection – she meets Julian. For the first time she dares to believe she can live a normal life.

Then, on the fourteenth anniversary of that day, she receives a card. Someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed the life Leah has created.

But is Leah all she seems? Or does she deserve everything she gets?

Everyone has secrets. But some are deadly.

Kindle Edition, 300 pages
Published October 15th 2015 by Bookouture 
Genre: Psychological Thriller

Kristine's Thoughts:

I enjoy a good psychological thriller but lately I've had a hard time connecting with one that leaves me truly satisfied...until now. I began this book knowing very little about it and having no expectations so I was more than pleasantly surprised once I got into it.

This book weaves between Leah's past and present. The reader knows that something happened in her past to make her emotionally disconnect and keep her distance from people in the present but we don't know what. So not only did I want to know who was harassing Leah in the present but I wanted to know the big "what happened?" in the past that created her present day situation. It was two stories woven into one with many twists and turns to create one giant, page turning story.

I was pretty much useless for anything else while I was reading this book. I had to find out what happened and I was dying to know who was tormenting Leah. There were some things that I was able to guess but then there were some shocking things that I did not see coming. I had her tormentor/stalker figured out pretty early but was blindsided by some of the other events. Both past and present were equally entertaining and kept me on my toes. I can't and won't say anything else about it because I think it is important to go into this book knowing as little as possible about it. You won't regret it!

The Girl With No Past is an extremely entertaining, well written book that fans of psychological thrillers will e sure to enjoy. I know I did!

About the Author
Author of psychological thrillers, Behind Closed Doors, The Stranger Within and The Girl With No Past. Rep'd by Madeleine Milburn and published by Bookouture.

Connect with Kathryn

1 comment:

  1. i have read this, I think Leah Mills' secret was pretty sad but her courage to move on is tremendous.