Sunday, 27 December 2015

Review: The Heat Is On by Katie Rose

Perfect for readers of Joanna Blake and Sawyer Bennett, hailed as “charming, sexy, and smart” by Lauren Layne, the Boys of Summer series from award-winning author Katie Rose heats up as a homegrown baseball star returns to snag the one that got away.

When veteran catcher Connor Jackson gets traded to the New Jersey Sonics, he welcomes the opportunity to possibly cap his career with a World Series ring in his home state. But there’s another reason Connor is glad things have come full circle. In pursuit of hardball glory, he left behind his college sweetheart, the one girl he could never forget. Seeing her again stirs up long-lost desires . . . and this time, he’s determined not to strike out.

A divorced mother of four, Tracy Coleman no longer aspires to gossip-mag glam—but she’ll make an exception for a date with Connor. Their chemistry is hotter than ever, and being alone with him is more seductive than she anticipated. Who could blame her for leaving out a little detail like the kids? Now all she has to do is come clean and convince the man of her dreams that they—Connor, Tracy, and her children—have a future together.

Kindle Edition
Expected publication: January 5th 2016 by Loveswept 
Series: The Boys of Summer #4
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Kristine's Thoughts:

**  I received an advanced readers copy from Loveswept via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!**

The Heat is On is the fourth book in The Boys of Summer series but can be read as a standalone. Including this one, I have read three out of the four books and was super excited to revisit the fun loving and always pranking Sonic ball players.

In this book we meet Connor, a veteran player, who is traded to the Sonics to finish out his last year of ball before retirement. This brings him back to his home state and his first and only true love, Tracy. He knows that she is divorced and he is determined to get her back. What he doesn't know is that she also has four children under the age of six. Even with all the complications there is no denying the ever present chemistry between the two that hasn't died but gotten stronger since their college years.

This book is a second chance romance at it's best and maybe most complicated at the same time. There is something about college sweethearts that tear at my heart strings so I was obviously routing for Connor and Tracy from the very beginning. I thoroughly enjoyed the addition of a large and young family. It provided many complications and obstacles for the two of them that were real and believable. As a parent I could totally relate and empathise with Tracy in her daily life.

As with the rest of the books, I was easily able to finish this one in a single day. The series is an extremely enjoyable one that only seems to get better with each one. Usually by the fourth book I am ready to move on but that is not the case with the Sonic boys. I enjoy them so much that I can't wait for more. They fill my contemporary romance fix each and every time!


About the Author
Award-winning historical author Katie Rose makes her contemporary debut with the Boys of Summer novels, Bring on the Heat and Too Hot to Handle, which combine Katie’s true loves: baseball and romance! When not watching baseball, Katie is at her lake house in New Jersey, hard at work on her next book.

**She is the bestselling author of twelve historical romance novels published under the names Colleen Quinn and Katie Rose .**

Connect with Katie

No comments:

Post a Comment