Sunday, 27 April 2014

Review: Pulled Under by Michelle Dalton

A shy teen befriends an attractive beach town tourist in this refreshing summertime romance, in the tradition of Sixteenth Summer and Seventeenth Summer.

In the small town of Pearl Beach, Florida, Izzy Lucas needs only her surfboard and the water to be completely happy. She wants nothing to do with parties, popularity contests, or showing her face around the clichéd touristy hangouts. Izzy’s tight group of coworkers at the local surf shop have tried relentlessly to break shy Izzy out of her (sea)shell. But Izzy isn’t interested…until the day Ben Barker walks into the store.

Ben’s from the city. He’s cute, charming, and wants her help adjusting to beach town culture. As the weeks of surfing lessons and pizza shack visits fly by, Izzy and Ben realize their attraction goes beyond mere friendship. But Ben is only in town for three months, and Izzy wonders if this amazing guy is worth stepping out of her comfort zone for what might be the perfect summer romance—or her first heartbreak.

Kindle Edition, 304 pages
Expected publication: May 6th 2014 by Simon Pulse 
Genre: Young Adult/ Romance

Kristine's Thoughts:

I received an advanced readers copy of this book from Simon Pulse via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!

I thought that this book was super cute. I am by no means a young adult but I found myself thinking back to my summers as a teenager and found myself relating to the characters in the book.

It was more than just a story about young love and summer time crushes. It was about finding yourself and pushing yourself to be your best you. Izzy was a fade into the background kind of girl until Ben came along and gave her the confidence to achieve more than she ever thought possible. Throughout the highs and lows of their summer romance Izzy discovered who she was and where she belonged.

The romance itself was adorable to read. The way Izzy and Ben interacted was sweet, innocent and heartwarming. They were both etremely likeable and quirky and I enjoyed how the relationship developed. I would have loved Ben as a teenager even with the white socks! Mostly I think I enjoyed the fact that their romance was healthy and clean. It was a refreshing change from a lot of what is out there right now.

I would reccommend this book to anyone who is looking for a sweet, wholesome story about young love and growing as a person. Besides a few little kisses the book is squeaky clean and appropriate for the youngest of the young adults and those of us that are young at heart.

About the Author
Michelle Dalton is the author of Fifteenth Summer, Sixteenth Summer, and the Sixteenth Summer series. Married to her high school sweetheart, Michelle loves baking, walking her dog, Lola, and reading on the beach.  

No comments:

Post a Comment