Monday, 25 July 2016

Review: Firefly Summer by Nan Rossiter

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Nan Rossiter's touching new novel reunites four sisters at their childhood vacation spot on Cape Cod--where they uncover the truth about a past tragedy to find their future as a family. . .

The close-knit Quinn siblings enjoyed the kind of idyllic childhood that seems made for greeting cards, spending each summer at Whit's End, the family's home on Cape Cod. Then comes the summer of 1964, warm and lush after a rainy spring--perfect firefly weather. Sisters Birdie, Remy, Sailor, Piper, and their brother, Easton, delight in catching the insects in mason jars to make blinking lanterns. Until, one terrible night, eight-year-old Easton drowns in the rising tide.

Decades later, the sisters have carved out separate lives on the Cape. Through love and heartbreak, health issues, raising children, and caring for their aging parents, they have supported each other, rarely mentioning their deep childhood loss. But one evening, as they sit together at Whit's End to watch the sun set, the gathering fireflies elicit memories of that long-ago night, and a tumult of regrets, guilt, and secrets tumble out.

Poignant yet hopeful, Firefly Summer is an uplifting story of the resilience of sisterhood and the bright glimpses of joy and solace that, like fireflies after rain, can follow even the deepest heartaches.

Kindle Edition, 352 pages
Expected publication: July 26th 2016 by Kensington

Terri's Thoughts

I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.  The expected publication date us July 26th, 2016.

Against my own set of rules when I am reading a book and reviewing it, I took a peak at what others were saying.  I had to as I needed to know if how I felt upon completion of the story is the same as others.  Based on the current reviews out there, it appears that I am alone in my opinion.  While others have raved about the story, I myself found it on the dull and unrealistic side.

The writing style was great, I can find no fault.  My issue was really with the characters.  With the age of the four sisters, I found it difficult to believe that they all of a sudden were coming to terms with the death of their brother.  There was no real turning point in the story that would have brought theses sisters to this point in their grieving process, particularly after over 50 years.  It felt kind of random to me.  Not to mention that most of the characters were not really likeable, or if they were, they were just boring.

I hate to say anything negative about a book because people have different tastes and opinions and mine certainly should not be a deciding factor.  For me. I just found this story a little too much about nothing for my tastes.

About the Author

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Nan Parson Rossiter's adult fiction is often compared to the work of Nicholas Sparks - especially her first novel, THE GIN & CHOWDER CLUB. She hopes readers who enjoyed GIN & CHOWDER (or those who haven't discovered it yet!) will look for the same characters in the Christmas anthology, MAKING SPIRITS BRIGHT. Nan's second novel, WORDS GET IN THE WAY, is an uplifting story about a single mom whose young son has autism. Her third novel, MORE THAN YOU KNOW, touches on the bonds of sisterhood and the tragedy and despair of Alzheimer's, and her new novel, UNDER A SUMMER SKY, ties them all together in the spring of 2014.

Nan is a graduate of the Rhode Island School of Design and is also the author-illustrator of several books for children including, most recently, THE FO'C'SLE: HENRY BESTON'S OUTERMOST HOUSE, called "a lovely vision of one man's communion with nature" by Publisher's Weekly.

Nan lives in rural Connecticut with her husband and two handsome sons.

No comments:

Post a Comment