Saturday, 9 August 2014

Review: Henna House by Nomi Eve

In the tradition of Anita Diamant's The Red Tent, Henna House is the enthralling story of a woman, her family, their community, and the rituals that bind them.

Nomi Eve’s vivid saga begins in Yemen in 1920, when Adela Damari’s parents desperately seek a future husband for their young daughter. After passage of the Orphan’s Decree, any unbetrothed Jewish child left orphaned will be instantly adopted by the local Muslim community. With her parents’ health failing, and no spousal prospects in sight, Adela’s situation looks dire until her uncle arrives from a faraway city, bringing with him a cousin and aunt who introduce Adela to the powerful rituals of henna tattooing. Suddenly, Adela’s eyes are opened to the world, and she begins to understand what it means to love another and one’s heritage. She is imperiled, however, when her parents die and a prolonged drought threatens their long-established way of life. She and her extended family flee to the city of Aden where Adela encounters old loves, discovers her true calling, and is ultimately betrayed by the people and customs she once held dear.

Henna House is an intimate family portrait and a panorama of history. From the traditions of the Yemenite Jews, to the far-ranging devastation of the Holocaust, to the birth of the State of Israel, Eve offers an unforgettable coming-of-age story and a textured chronicle of a fascinating period in the twentieth century.

Henna House is a rich, spirited, and sensuous tale of love, loss, betrayal, forgiveness, and the dyes that adorn the skin and pierce the heart.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Expected publication: August 12th 2014 by Scribner
Terri's Thoughts

I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher Scribner via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.  The expected publication date is August 12, 2014.

I have to admit that I went in to this story fairly ignorant about Yemen and the journey of the Yemenite Jews.  Although this was a work of historical fiction I feel I am now better educated about this part of our history and I am anxious to discover more.

The story of Adela was a deep and tragic read.  I will not delve in to the plot as this is one of those stories that needs to tell itself.  What I will say is that this Eve created a strong character in Adela and was able to capture the plight of an entire group of people via the plight of Adela.  The character development was detailed and the story compelling.

This is not a happy go lucky read.  If that is your interest I recommend reading something else.  This is a tragic yet uplifting story that is for serious readers of historical fiction.  You are rewarded in the end.

About the Author

No comments:

Post a Comment