Friday, 28 November 2014

Review: Maybe Not by Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover, the New York Times bestselling author of Maybe Someday brilliantly brings to life the story of the wonderfully hilarious and charismatic Warren in a new novella, Maybe Not.

When Warren has the opportunity to live with a female roommate, he instantly agrees. It could be an exciting change.

Or maybe not.

Especially when that roommate is the cold and seemingly calculating Bridgette. Tensions run high and tempers flare as the two can hardly stand to be in the same room together. But Warren has a theory about Bridgette: anyone who can hate with that much passion should also have the capability to love with that much passion. And he wants to be the one to test this theory.

Will Bridgette find it in herself to warm her heart to Warren and finally learn to love?


Maybe not.

Kindle Edition, 129 pages
Published November 24th 2014 by Atria Books 
Genre: New Adult

Kristine's Thoughts:

Maybe Someday was one of my favourite reads this year so I was thrilled when I found out that Maybe Not, a novella featuring Warren and Bridgette, had been published.

Capturing the right emotions in so few words is such a difficult and risky task but, as always, Hoover managed to nail it. She had me behind Warren and Bridgette the entire time. Their relationship was so dysfunctional that it worked and I loved their very unique way of interacting with each other. I am truly in awe of her ability to write characters in a way that makes you love them. I adored Warren and his quirky personality!

Being a novella, it is an extremely quick read but it at no time felt rushed. Perhaps if I had not read Maybe Someday I would have felt differently but with knowing all the players already I did not. For fans of Sydney and Ridge, they also appear in this story and you get to re-visit them.

I don't like to say too much when talking about a novella because there is only so much story. In my opinion, Hoover continues to be one of the leading authors in new adult fiction and fans of the genre will not be disappointed in anything she writes.

Check out my review of Maybe Someday

Connect with Colleen

1 comment:

  1. I've been holding off on this one only because it is a novella and I like longer reads. I really want to read it now though. Thanks for the review
    Jessi, The Book Cove