Saturday, 27 June 2015

Review: Don't Ever Change by M. Beth Bloom

Eva has always wanted to write a modern classic—one that actually appeals to her generation. The only problem is that she has realized she can't "write what she knows" because she hasn't yet begun to live. So before heading off to college, Eva is determined to get a life worth writing about.

Soon Eva's life encounters a few unexpected plot twists. She becomes a counselor at a nearby summer camp—a job she is completely unqualified for. She starts growing apart from her best friends before they've even left for school. And most surprising of all, she begins to fall for the last guy she would have ever imagined. But no matter the roadblocks, or writer's blocks, it is all up to Eva to figure out how she wants this chapter in her story to end.

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell, Don't Ever Change is a witty, snarky, and thought-provoking coming-of-age young adult novel about a teen who sets out to write better fiction and, ultimately, discovers the truth about herself.

ebook, 368 pages
Expected publication: July 7th 2015 by HarperTeen
Terri's Thoughts

** I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher HarperTeen via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.  The expected publication data is July 7, 2015**

I feel a little bit confused with this story.  I can honestly say I didn't really get it, and that bothers me.  I can usually see the deeper meaning of things even if it is so deeply buried you need to dig for it.  Nope, didn't get this one at all.

I think the source of my confusion stems from the synopsis of the book where it says it is about someone who ultimately discovers the truth about herself.  This misled me because she didn't, not really.  There was no real journey here.

I know I am being harsh however Eva really had no redeeming qualities.  She was mean, hated everyone, wrote her friends off over nothing and was completely self centered.  It is pretty difficult to identify with a character like that.  I am sure I have been accused of being some of those things from time to time however nothing in my personality, and I assume the general population, is like that all the time.  I get the feeling that the character was written to be eccentric however somehow missed the mark.  I just found her annoying and hoped she would redeem herself in her journey. 

Now on to her relationships.  Again no chemistry.  How can you hate someone one second and then be chasing them while you have another sort of boyfriend you don't really care about? Confused?  you should be.  Eva came off a lot younger than she was based on the maturity she displayed.  I felt like she was one of the girls at camp instead of the counselor.

Needless to say I did not enjoy this book very much.  While I am sure that others may be able to see what I couldn't I will admit that it was not for me.  At the end of the day I was left feeling annoyed.

About the Author


  1. Oh no, I'm about to read this next and I was pretty excited about it too! Sorry you didn't like it. I hate it when I have big expectations and not have it met.
    Great review though!

    -Kimi at Geeky Chiquitas

  2. I'm curious what your thoughts are once you finish it. Maybe I was just in a bad mood when I read it?