Tuesday, 15 March 2016

Review: No One Knows by J.T. Ellison

The day Aubrey Hamilton’s husband is declared dead by the state of Tennessee should bring closure so she can move on with her life. But Aubrey doesn’t want to move on; she wants Josh back. It’s been five years since he disappeared, since their blissfully happy marriage—they were happy, weren’t they?—screeched to a halt and Aubrey became the prime suspect in his disappearance. Five years of emptiness, solitude, loneliness, questions. Why didn’t Josh show up at his friend’s bachelor party? Was he murdered? Did he run away? And now, all this time later, who is the mysterious yet strangely familiar figure suddenly haunting her new life?

In No One Knows, the New York Times bestselling coauthor of the Nicholas Drummond series expertly peels back the layers of a complex woman who is hiding dark secrets beneath her unassuming exterior. This masterful thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Liane Moriarty, and Paula Hawkins will pull readers into a you’ll-never-guess merry-go-round of danger and deception. Round and round and round it goes, where it stops…no one knows.

Kindle Edition, 384 pages
Expected publication: March 22nd 2016 by Gallery Books 
Genre: Mystery/Thriller/Suspense/Psychological Thriller

Kristine's Thoughts:

** I received an advanced readers copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!**

If you are looking for a book with lots of twists and turns that keep you on your toes you will find it in No One Knows. I was so enraptured in the story that I was able to finish it in no time. It was one of those "one more chapter" books as I like to call them. You know...the ones where you promise yourself just one more chapter before putting it down and before you know it you are on the last page.

The book began when Aubrey's husband was declared dead by the state of Tennessee, five years after he went missing. Although Aubrey knew that he was dead she still found it hard to swallow because it made it official and yet she still didn't know what happened to him. Her fragile mental health and paranoia after being put on trial for his murder added an extremely interesting element to the story.

No One Knows was told through multiple different points of view including Josh and Aubrey but not limited to them. Told from their childhood to present in Aubrey's case and up until he went missing for Josh. Although it sounds like it would be confusing it really wasn't. The back and forth painted a very detailed picture of the events leading up to the disappearance with many surprises for the reader along the way. I'm pretty good at figuring things out before they happen but I have to admit that there were a couple things that caught me by surprise. I really, really like when that happens.

Was Josh really dead? If not, where was he and what happened to him? Was Aubrey crazy? These were the questions that were running through my head the entire time I was reading. I desperately wanted to know the answers. The fact that I was tearing through the pages trying to get my answers indicated to me that I was really enjoying the book. I love books that make me think and keep me on my toes and this one definitely did that.

I don't want to say much of anything else because this is one of those books where the less you know the better. For me it was a great story with great characters and a fantastic yet twisty plot. I think fans of this genre are really going to enjoy it!

About the Author
New York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison writes dark psychological thrillers starring Nashville Homicide Lt. Taylor Jackson and medical examiner Dr. Samantha Owens, and pens the Nicholas Drummond series with #1 New York Times bestselling author Catherine Coulter. Cohost of the premier literary television show, A Word on Words , Ellison lives in Nashville with her husband and twin kittens.  

Connect with J.T. Ellison

No comments:

Post a Comment