Saturday, 14 February 2015

Review: Undertaking Love by Kat French

Sexy and smart, with an extremely desirable male lead, this is a delightful debut from an exciting new voice in women’s fiction.

When Marla Jacobs discovers that the shop next to her Little White Wedding Chapel is to become a funeral parlour, she declares all-out war.

Funny, romantic, and dangerously sexy, perfect for fans of Jane Costello and Lucy Diamond.

Marla’s chapel in the sleepy Shropshire countryside has become a nationwide sensation, but the arrival of Funeral Director Gabriel Ryan threatens everything Marla has worked for. She can picture the scene: wedding limos fighting for space in the street with hearses; brides bumping into widows; bouquets being swapped for wreaths.

Marla’s not going down without a fight. She enlists a motley crew of weird and wonderful local supporters, and battle lines are drawn. But, as soon as Marla meets her nemesis, she realises just how much trouble she’s in. His rugged good looks and Irish lilt make her stomach fizz – how is she supposed to concentrate on destroying him, when half the time she’s struggling not to rip the shirt off his back?

Paperback, 400 pages
Expected publication: February 17th 2015 by AVON, HarperCollins Publishers

Terri's Thoughts

I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher Avon via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.  The expected publication date is February 17th 2015.

Sometimes you do not need to say a lot to express that you enjoyed a book.  This is one of those cases.  It is typical of it's genre, a romance with a little bit of extra storyline to keep you engaged from beginning to end.  It has the required conflict mixed with attraction for the two main characters.

What I enjoyed were the various sub-plots that were found in the story.  The story of Emily and her failed attempts at pregnancy, the a-dora-ble Dora and the crazy Melanie.  Many times I found myself anxiously waiting to get back to their stories.  Not to mention that Gabe is the super sexy guy that one would expect in one of these stories.

These stories tend not to pull on my emotional heartstrings to much nor do I expect them to BUT there were a couple of tears shed from my eyes.  Bluey...I will say no more.

Overall this would be a good choice for fans of the romance/contemporary genre.  I happened to be reading this during my beach vacation and it was a great pick.

About the Author

Romantic comedy writer, disorganised mum, fairy light lover, and champion wine drinker.
Slightly less smutty alter-ego of Kitty French, USA Today bestselling smut fictionista.
Twitter:  katfrench_

No comments:

Post a Comment